At Enjoy! we are proud to create plant-based chocolate & fudge, and every one of our delicious products is registered vegan by The Vegan Society.

Perhaps surprisingly there is no legal definition of the term “vegan”. However, the Vegan Society defines veganism as:

"Veganism is a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude—as far as is possible and practicable—all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose; and by extension, promotes the development and use of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of animals, humans and the environment. In dietary terms it denotes the practice of dispensing with all products derived wholly or partly from animals."

The criteria for a product to carry the Vegan Trademark are:

  • It must not contain animal ingredients or have been tested on animals
  • The possibility of cross-contamination of the product with non-vegan ingredients must meet Vegan Society requirements
Vegan Society Logo

Be Label Aware: “Vegan” vs “Free From”

As well as displaying the Vegan Society Trademark, we are careful to also state on our packaging the allergens our plant-based fudge and chocolate are “free from”. 

Unfortunately, seeing the words “plant-based,” “vegan-friendly” or even “vegan,” on a food label does not necessarily mean it is free from allergens like dairy and egg - even if it has the Vegan Trademark. The Vegan Society does not check for evidence of cross-contamination to an allergen standard, so foods may not be safe for those with allergies to dairy, eggs or other animal-derived allergens.

A recent article courtesy of Guardian News & Media Ltd, that reported that one in three vegan products were found to contain traces of egg or dairy. Check out our blog to discover more.

Our wrappers don’t have “may contain” dairy or egg statements, and because our vegan chocolate products are made in our dedicated factory, the risk of cross-contamination from all allergens, is reduced. (See our Allergen statement and Free From page).

This is good news if you are vegan, have food sensitivities, or both!


See our blogs for more information on all things vegan:

Our Guide to Vegan Terminology

Enjoy!’s Complete Guide to Veganuary

Happy 10th Anniversary Veganuary

Enjoy! Vegan products