Enjoy! was created as a result of founder Chris Crutchley’s food intolerances, so we are fully committed to being a “free from” chocolate brand. The Food Standards Authority (FSA) have identified 14 main (most common) allergens, and we are working towards being free from all of them. 

Currently, our recipes and factory are free from the following 6 allergens on the FSA's list: 

  • Dairy
  • Soya
  • Egg 
  • Gluten 
  • Peanut
  • Tree nuts (hazelnut, cashew, pistachio, Brazil nut, macadamia, walnut, almond, pecan.) 

In addition, Enjoy!'s products do not contain the following FSA-listed allergens and we work hard with our suppliers to minimise risk of these allergens entering our ingredients: 

  • Sesame
  • Crustaceans
  • Molluscs 
  • Fish 
  • Celery
  • Lupin
  • Mustard 
  • Sulphites

As an added bonus, Enjoy! chocolate doesn't contain: 

  • Refined sugar. We use coconut sugar instead for its rich, caramel flavour and lower Glycaemic Index. 
  • Palm oil 
  • Genetically modified (GM) ingredients 

Although the FSA have identified 14 allergens, Chris' own experience taught us that food sensitivities can develop in response to eating any food stuff. This means that we're meticulous both about the ingredients we use in our free from chocolate, and in our manufacturing process: 

  • Each product contains just a few  ingredients, which minimises possible reactions whilst maximising great taste
  • Making all products in our dedicated facility helps us control allergens and cross-contamination risks  

Be Label Aware: “Vegan” vs “Free From”

Please be warned: if you have food allergies or sensitivities, seeing “vegan” on a food label does not automatically mean that it will be free from non-vegan allergens like dairy or egg. This is why you often see “may contain…” allergen statements on food labels.

This is still the case, even if the product carries the Vegan Society or Vegetarian Society trademark. These registration bodies do not check for evidence of cross-contamination to an allergen standard, so foods may not be safe for those with allergies to dairy, eggs or other animal-derived allergens.

Of concern for those with food allergies, a recent article courtesy of Guardian News & Media Ltd, that reported that one in three vegan products were found to contain traces of egg or dairy. See our blog to discover more.

As well as stating our products are free from dairy and eggs, all Enjoy! chocolate is also registered vegan by the Vegan Society, and you won’t see “may contain” dairy or egg statements on our product labels.

Enjoy!'s Allergen Statement.